Crafter Interview – Sharon Lockhart Mitchell

This just another fantastic reason to love handmade creations, you could never buy memory bear in a regular shop. Sharon from Grandad Toms Handmade Gifts can turn piece of garment of your loved one who passed away into anything, or make a beautiful toy and blanket out of baby grows! Something to treasure forever. All the way from Northern Ireland Sharon answers couple of Crafty Mummy questions. 



 Why do you craft? How did you learn? How did you get interested in crafts? 

I started crafting as a way of coping with the sudden loss of my father. I find great comfort it turning a piece of fabric into something unique and personal to a stranger. My first comission was for a friendshe asked if I could turn her daughters baby grows into an elephant. After a bit of sole searching I decided yes I can do this.

Taking apart someone’s treasured possesion with a pair of scissors is rather daunting. But with my father looking over me and a newfound self-belief I did it and never looked back.


What are you can’t-live-without craft essentials?

Can’t live without sewing machine and stuffing.



How often do you craft?

I craft most days 


What sorts of things are inspiring you? Where do you look for inspirations?

I am inspired by animals and the trust people have in me to keep creating.

Sharon can also crochet and knit!

What is your most popular/best selling make? 
My best seller is a memory bear.


How would you describe your style? 

I would describe myself as a bit of a perfectionists. If it didn’t please me it won’t leave my house till it does.

What is your favourite thing to do other than crafting? 

Other than crafting I enjoy running but haven’t just got time at minute With four children.



What is your advice for people who want to start crafting or craft and want to start selling?

Only do crafting if u enjoy it. For people who want to sell your crafts need to be creative and unique it will stand by u in the long run.



Do you attend craft markets?
Yes, I do a few local fairs.


What makes you smile? 

The look on a customers face after reciting one of my creations it’s priceless.


Thank you Sharon❤️

visit Sharon’s Facebook by clicking  Grandad Toms Handmade Gifts

or Grandad Toms on Instagram

Thank you for your attention and support!

#supportHandmade #loveHandmade

Kasia 

10 thoughts on “Crafter Interview – Sharon Lockhart Mitchell

  1. How awesome. Reminded me of years ago my friends grandma passed away. She had a mink coat that no one could wear so they took it somewhere and had it made into teddy bears for all the great grandchildren. This is an awesome idea! I love it!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So cool! I’ve been saving baby clothes to make memory items, but I’ll be honest–I’m so afraid to bung the project so badly I’ll loose the item! Its a bit irrational since most things I sew turn out alright. These are just darling, though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

