‘Sharing is Caring’ – Emer from Poppy and Ivy Studios

Hello the loveliest readers, The Crafty Mummy blog is getting very busy lately (eek!) traffic is higher than I’ve ever imagined, also engagement on my social media is amazing and with lots of new opportunities coming my way I’ve created new series ‘Sharing is Caring’ where I am giving space to other creative souls. To show their talents, to inspire and to ramble☺️One of the main aim of this blog was to promote handmade and crafts and I swear this will never change❤️#supportHandmade #beCreative 

Let’s start off with a bang! Guest post  from an inspirational woman and an artist Emer from Poppy & Ivy Studios

Hello! I’m Emer O’Neill, the artist/designer/coffee maker at Poppy & Ivy Studios. I create bohemian style seaglass jewellery and paint contemporary seascapes in my seaside home studio in Woodstown, Co. Waterford. I’m thrilled to be invited to write a guest post for the fabulous The Crafty Mummy blog & I’m going to give you a little behind-the-scenes peek at a day in the life of a beachcomber/jewellery designer!!


On a gloriously sunny Sunday, myself, my husband and our two little girls hit our favourite beachcombing spot in Dunmore East. The great light and very low tide created perfect treasure hunting conditions, although I’d enthusiastically search for seaglass in any weather to be honest! The cry of the kittywakes and the impressive sight of the Wind Surf cruise ship docked near the harbour added to the atmosphere. Beachcombing with my family is incredibly special to me because it’s something we all enjoy doing and as a bonus I get to create pretty things with the loot. As much as I hate to admit it, they usually find better treasure than I do – my husband has hawk eyes and the kids are closer to the ground 😉 But as luck would have it, this was my day! 


After zig-zagging up and down the pebble strewn sand (bent over double of course) I discovered ‘the finds of the day’. Me! First up was a gorgeous little chunk of cobalt blue seaglass, perched amongst the rocks at the base of the steps down to the cove. The light caught it in a certain way and my heart did a little dance. Cobalt blue is one of the rare colours of seaglass and is sometimes called the sapphire of the sea (by dorks like me). Once used for medicine bottles and poison bottles, blue glass is now a cause for huge excitement and bringer of great joy (for dorks like me). The next exciting discovery was a little fragment of feather edge ware, lying face down on the sand (it’s important to turn over all of the pieces, even if they look like plain white pottery – sometimes you’ll be pleasantly surprised!). Feather edge ware is white pottery with a (typically) blue wavy decorative edge. This dates back to the late 1700’s and the technique of decorating the rim in this fashion was used by the poorer folk as a means of making their humble white crockery more aesthetically pleasing. Again – big happy dance moment. Among the other finds were a few shards of Blue Willow pottery, some milk glass (opaque white glass) and many pieces of gorgeously glinting jewel like seaglass. I hope you can tell how happy this makes me because I’m wiggling in my seat as I type this. I could spend hours pondering what each piece was used for, who owned it, where did it come from and also, how far did it travel along the sea bed to wash up in this little cove in the South East of Ireland?


So what next? Back to the studio! When I create jewellery my main aim is to connect the wearer to a little slice of my beach life. I’m aware of how lucky I am living by the sea – the call of the gulls, the sound of the waves, the salty air – it’s heaveny! I believe that having a little piece from the beach to wear around your neck, wrist or finger is a wonderful way to add a little seaside inspiration to your outfit. And thankfully they’re proving to be popular with seaside dwellers and city gals alike (lucky for me, everyone loves the beach!). I keep my designs bohemian in style, rustic, romantic and edgy. When designing this piece, I really wanted to put the cobalt blue glass and the feather edge ware together and I decided on a necklace design that used both as hanging charms. The pieces compliment each other so beautifully and when I found them in such close proximity and on the same day, I couldn’t separate them. I’m a sentimental fool really but shhh, don’t tell anyone. I wire wrapped each piece and suspended them from a Sterling Silver chain. I really love the finished piece. And as much as I would like to covet this beauty for myself I have listed it for sale in my Etsy shop. CLICK HERE to have a peek! Also, I’m delighted to announce that I’m offering a not-too-shabby 10% off for all The Crafty Mummy readers! This applies to everything in the shop until the end of July. Just use the code CRAFTYMUMMY10 at the checkout. 


I hope you’ve enjoyed reading this little insight into my life and work (I’m not sure if I can tell the difference these days!). Perhaps you’ll be inspired to search for seaglass yourself – let me know if you do! If you’d like to keep up to date with my creative journey, be sure to check out my new blog www.poppyandivystudios.com You can also catch me on Facebook and Instagram @poppy.and.ivy.studios 

shop Poppy & Ivy on Etsy


Note from Kasia: please give Emer some love, support handmade and real passion by clicking like, leaving comment or follow! It gives wings❤️and it comes back with double strength!

Thank you for sharing your story Emer!

21 thoughts on “‘Sharing is Caring’ – Emer from Poppy and Ivy Studios

  1. Such fun finding sea glass. Last summer in Italy we visited a beach that had no shells, only glass. I brought a handful home with no particular plan what they would become… thanks for the inspiration. I too wondered from where these pieces may have come. Some appeared to be clay. Maybe tiles from a roof?

    Liked by 3 people

  2. A gorgeous post! I love seeing Emer’s treasures and I always wonder about the history behind each piece. Looking forward to the next article in the series!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such beautiful and personal photos and so cool to read how you create all your wonderful pieces Emer. Must check out your cove next time I’m down and around Waterford! Michaela xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

