CRAFTER INTERVIEW – Gillian Moore 

I feel honoured to introduce you Gillian, talented crocheter with amazing attention to details, who designs, creates and write patterns under name The Daisy Patch.The Daisy Patch is one of the very first crafty fb pages I clicked ‘like’ on, and I have been admiring Gillian’s work since. I’m sure you’ll enjoy next couple of minutes, reading all about how she got ‘hooked’ and tips on stepping into crafty world.

Gillian Moore – creator of The Daisy Patch

  

WHY DO YOU CRAFT? 

Long before I picked up a hook, I always had an interest in some sort of craft. I found it very relaxing. I crochet now as a hobby and as a business. I’ll be very honest that the relaxation isn’t there so much now when I am working to order but I still love it!

HOW DID YOU LEARN? 

I first picked up a hook in 2011. My sister was pregnant with her 1st child and my mother in law offered to teach me to crochet her a baby blanket. I was ‘hooked’ immediately! Once the very imperfect blanket was complete, I turned to You Tube to learn some more.

WHAT ARE YOUR CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT CRAFT ESSENTIALS? 

I can’t live without my stitch markers (I get distracted easily & always forget what number stitch I’m on!). My pom pom maker…..gone are the days of cutting circles out from cereal boxes to make pom poms! And last but not least…… a good sharp craft scissors!

  

HOW OFTEN DO YOU CRAFT? 

I crochet for approx 8 hours a day depending on how busy my order book is. I generally work when my girls are in school and then again in the evening. I have been known to stay up till the early hours to get orders complete! Any free time is basically crochet time…..

WHAT SORT OF THINGS ARE INSPIRING YOU? 

I am really inspired by colour. I like to put quite unusual colours together. I generally don’t do the typical colours especially when it comes to baby items. I really don’t like the typical baby pink & blue. Of course if thats what a customer wants, I make it but if it’s my choice I would always suggest something different.

WHAT IS YOUR MOST POPULAR/BESTSELLING MAKE? 

My bestseller at the moment is actually the jumper I’m wearing. I designed this last year after looking in shops for something similar, having no luck and realising I could make it myself. I have been selling the jumper since last Summer but have only just released the pattern so fellow crocheters can make it for themselves. My 2nd bestseller is one of my baby blanket sets. I make this set to order & also sell the pattern. My customer sends me a picture of their pram and I put colours together for them so it all matches.

Gillian’s best selling make!
  

unique colour combination – another bestseller
 

DO YOU SELL AT CRAFT MARKETS? 

I have sold at a Christmas market before but that’s it! I would love to have the time to commit to markets. I just love browsing around craft markets so I would love in the future to sell at them too.

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOUR STYLE? 

My personal style, I would say current but comfortable. I love fashion but sometimes don’t have the guts to wear a lot of what I want. I’m generally in ripped jeans and a comfy top. My crafting style would be very current too. Non traditional and not very typical crochet. 
  

CAN YOU SHARE WITH US SOME GOOD DIY/CRAFT RELATED TIPS? 

It’s not necessarily a craft tip, but I would say be adventurous when crafting! Think outside the box. Choose non typical colours. Be confident in what you are making.



WHAT IS YOUR ADVICE FOR PEOPLE WHO WANT TO START CRAFTING OR CRAFTING AND WANT TO START SELLING?

If you haven’t crafted before but want to start, definitely check out Pinterest. There are a huge amount of craft ideas there that can start you off. Check out local craft classes. Look up You Tube for tutorial videos. It’s easier now than ever to teach yourself a new craft! If you are crafting and considering it as a business, look up similar business’s in your area. It will all be about trial & error. Decide on your market and focus on that. DO NOT SELL YOURSELF SHORT! Be confident in what you are selling

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE THING TO DO OTHER THAN CRAFTING? 

I love spending time with my family. My daughters are 11 & 15 and growing up fast! I spend as much time as possible with them. I also love exercising. I find it to be a great stress reliever and sets me up for the day ahead.

WHAT MAKES YOU SMILE? 

In my personal life….my girls! And my husband and dog too! In my business life….passing someone in the street who is wearing one of my makes! It’s the best feeling. And returning customers, If they’re coming back to order again & again then you know you’re doing something right!

   
   
FACEBOOK: The Daisy Patch

RAVELRY: daisypatchcrochet

…you can’t use up creativity, the more you use, the more you have..

Thank you so much to Gillian for giving us a little inside into your crafty world!

Please come back again to read more inspirational stories…

Kasia 

18 thoughts on “CRAFTER INTERVIEW – Gillian Moore 

  1. Thank you for sharing Gillian’s story. I always admire people who are so much dedicated to what they love. 🙂 I can imagine how encouraging and heart warming must be to seeing people wearing what one created. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

