Crafter Interview – Kajsa Kinsella, Author and Designer

I am honoured to feature Kajsa on my blog. She is my crafty inspiration, I adore the Scandinavian style with all my heart. When I was 10 years old girl my first ever abroad trip was Sweden and now looking at Kajsa’s creations it brings back all the lovely memories!

Kajsa Kinsella

Why do you craft? How did you learn? How did you get interested in crafts?

My three sisters and I grew up in a very artistic family. We were surrounded by designers, architects, musicians, singers, bakers, chefs, photographers and all kinds of creativity, so there was never any lack of inspiration…! We all chose very creative paths in life and when we get together, the brainstorming sessions are something else!

What are you can’t-live-without craft essentials?

My oh my, I have so many things I use on a daily basis which I could not do without, but my sewing machine, camera and laptop are on the top of the list if there was a fire in my studio!

Child's Sami-Inspired SlippersDala horse earphone tidyFelt cinnamom buns

How often do you craft?

I have played around with a lot of crafts all my life on and off, but since I took the leap and started my business in May 2013, I have contributed to two books, and written two of my own, been editor in chief of my own UK/world-wide published magazine and am since I started, surrounded by assignments, deadlines and commissions and I am loving every minute of it! As much as I love my husband and children dearly, I have to say that there is no time of the day that I don`t think of furthering my career and on my ever growing “To Do-List”!

What sorts of things are inspiring you? Where do you look for inspirations?

I am happy to say that I have never ever been stuck for inspiration or had any writer`s freeze at anytime so far-touch wood!  There is a 24/7 buzzing commotion of ideas and solutions in my head which keeps me motivated, hungry for more success and focused.

When do you feel the most creative?

There is no better time than very, very early in the morning when the family is fast asleep and I have the full ownership of my “head-space” and I can really dive into my work.

What is your most popular/best selling make?

When I was given the contract from CICO Books to make my latest book Sew Scandinavian, I decided to also create an interior design range, which is reflected in the tutorials. It will be fully launched in just a few weeks and can be found on www.thenorthernshores.com. I will then get to work and promote it properly.

Sew ScandinavianNordicanaNorthern Shores Carbon Logo
How would you describe your style?

My style when I create commissioned items is universal, but if I create one for myself so to speak, it tends to always end up Scandinavian-inspired in some way or other!

Tassled Heart Trio

What is your favourite thing to do other than crafting?

As self employed, running my business completely on my own, I have very little time left over in the 24 hour day, but if I do have a bit left over, I love watching a movie with my family or play cards with them-it always ends up in a huge laughing quarrel!

What is your advice for people who want to start crafting or craft and want to start selling?

As nice and exciting as it is to be individual and different; to get seen, published or accepted to certain fairs, you have to adjust your range and look to your intended target market. If you aim to get published then buy a copy of that particular magazine and learn how they write, their style of photography, age profile and overall look. Style your tutorial or article to suit them. As a former editor in chief, I have rejected so many crafters due to bad photography, lack of enthusiasm and ignorance of the theme of the magazine. If you want to attend a certain trade show or craft fair then Google it, read reviews from visitors and trades people, study the images and mirror your application to suit the target. When you have made it and are rich and famous, you can afford to express more individuality!

What makes you smile?

Having worked nonstop since May 2013 on making a name for myself by writing books, editing magazines, designing, learning, teaching, chasing social media followers, writing book proposals, sending my media pack to every single magazine on the planet (almost) and spoken on various radio shows, calling out for people`s attention…

What makes me smile from ear to ear is when “they” call me or “they” email me, finally looking for my attention which is happening now as my Sew Scandinavian is getting published! It is such a great feeling to be wanted and desired. Loads of more work for me, but I of course love every minute of it!

Find Kajsa’s books and designs on www.kajsakinsella.com

Northern Shores on Facebook Fb Fan Page

Kajsa Kinsella on Facebook

Buy Kajsa’s book here Amazon

Thank you so much to Kajsa for your  ️precious time!

Happy Crafting!

️xxx

Kasia 

Leave a Reply

